The day I met Maggie Steifvater

The day I met Maggie Steifvater
By Grace Bassett

When I first heard I was going to meet Maggie Steifvater it was January, which was both good and bad. Good because it was probably going to happen, bad because I still had two months to wait. So, to prepare for the 19th of March 2013, I watched every video she has on YouTube, re-read all her books and dissected her website to find the most original, brilliant questions possible to ask her. It all felt so surreal, and it didn’t actually sink in that I was going to meet her until I found myself dancing round Marks and Spencer’s and singing in joy, finding her a small gift and card on the eve of the day.
It was safe to say when I awoke the morning of the 19th, I was excited. I’d barely slept – and when I had I’d been dreaming of books and authors. I’d jumped out of bed – literally, I jumped – and rushed downstairs singing; “It’s the day! It’s the day!” And then, I went on to text, tweet, and facebook the same message to all my friends. My Mum and Dad had grown tired of my constant shouting and screaming, but their smiles showed me they were excited for me – even after I’d spent the night before singing with joy. I made my Mum drop me to school extra early, thinking it would make me one step closer to meeting Maggie – but it didn’t. It was worse; much worse. My morning at school consisted of skipping around the corridors and informing all my teachers that it was “the day”.
After the morning bell had rung, I knew I was getting closer to the much anticipated first meeting and that’s when my excitement really got out of control. I was running round with Mrs Baker, helping to get everything ready, when a press photographer arrived. And because she arrived, I knew Maggie Steifvater would not be far away. I saw the Book Nook car pull up. Well, I was hyperventilating and shaking now. I was about to meet my favourite author so you could imagine how daft I probably looked to the ultimately cool and calm Maggie Steifvater.
When she walked through the automatic doors, I just grinned like an idiot. Maggie was wearing sunglasses, so I couldn’t really see the shock in her eyes as she saw me standing there, grinning inanely. She stepped forward, shook my hand and introduced herself saying “Hi, I’m Maggie.” – Which made me freak out a little bit inside. And then I stepped forward and said, “Hi, I’m Grace, I’m here to meet you…..” I’d done so well, I was so calm and then I blurted out unthinkingly; “I’M SUCH A BIG FAN!” Maggie looked a little bit surprised but she laughed and then Mrs Baker arrived to rescue us both.
The rest of the morning passed in a blur, Maggie was laughing at all my comments and remarks about her books and happily took photos and answered all my questions. The nicest thing was that she was so down to earth and so funny. Every now and then she’d come out with these brilliant one liners that made me crack up and laugh like a crazy, deranged person – which I am. Maggie signed all of my books and in my copy of The Raven Boys she wrote: “For Grace – follow your dreams, love Maggie” which I thought was very sweet.
In between photos and talking to year 9, Maggie told me about her previous short visit to Germany and even dabbled on the school’s piano in the hall. She really is such an inspiration, proving it’s cool to show that you love books and also showed me that it really doesn’t matter what people think of you. Maggie also shared what her first ever review of Shiver was like which made both Mrs Baker and I laugh, a lot. She was fun, lovely, and really lived up to my expectations. As an aspiring author myself, she generously shared her secrets to writing and has really inspired me to write, and to dream, to hopefully be as good an author as her in the future.
I guess now all I can do is continue to thank Mrs Baker and The Book Nook for organising the visit, and especially thank Maggie for her time and inspiration. I’m off to read and read and read all her books over and over again. It surely was one of the best days of my life and one I’ll remember forever.

4 thoughts on “The day I met Maggie Steifvater

  1. How lovely to read such an enthusiastic account of Maggie’s visit, showing how worthwhile these visits are and the impact they have on students. Thanks Grace.

  2. Grace, I read your blog and actually felt your excitement! Your description of the day was so detailed and very readable. What a great day. Judging by your prose I would suggest you will go on to be a very good author yourself.

Leave a Reply

