Meet a Teacher – Miss Hannan

Lara Beale & Keely Burton

This week on the school blog we interviewed Miss Hannan (Business Studies teacher). Here is what she said:

ailish2

Q1. What interested you in the subject you teach and why did you start teaching?

“It was a subject I really enjoyed when I was learning about it myself in school.”

Q2. How long have you wanted to be a teacher and how long have you been teaching?

“I originally always wanted to be a primary school teacher but after I had done my A-levels, I didn’t get a high enough grade to become a primary school teacher. I then realised that I had an interest in teaching a high school and decided to pursue that instead.”

Q3. Is teaching your first major profession?

“My first major profession is teaching. I’ve been teaching for 3 years now. It’s not my first job, but it is my main one. I use to be a farmer before I became a teacher!

Q4. Do you have any advice for people who want to or are doing your subject for a GCSE?

“Everything we learn about relates to the world around us and it can help you in your future life as you get older.”

Q5. Do you see yourself continuing being a teacher in the future?

“Yes, but I would like to do some traveling in between to relieve some stress.”

Q6. How do you try to make your lessons interesting for students who may not have an interest in your subject you teach?

“The teaching techniques I use are videos, worksheets and I try to relate to local life and use local businesses as examples students may know of.”

Q7. What inspired you to start teaching?

“Some of the teachers I had when I was in school, they made teaching enjoyable.”

Q8. What other things do you do to improve/ help our school be better in your spare time? (E.g. Clubs, extra-curricular activities etc.)

“Enterprise club, blogging club and help out with the Duke of Edinburgh trips”

Save

Leave a Reply

